Mohun Bagan Day 2021 | Happy Mohun Bagan Day 2021 Wishes, Quotes, Images, History

By | June 29, 2021

Mohun Bagan Day 2021 | Happy Mohun Bagan Day 2021 Wishes, Quotes, Images, History:

Mohun Bagan Day 2021

Mohun Bagan Day has been celebrated since 2001 on 29 July each year in honour of Mohun Bagan’s victory over East Yorkshire Regiment in the 1911 IFA Shield Final.

Mohun Bagan Ratna is an award presented each year on Mohun Bagan Day to outstanding former players, irrespective of sports played. The first recipient was former captain Sailen Manna.

Mohun Bagan Ratna recipients
Year Name
2001 Sailen Manna
2002 Dr. Talimeran Ao (Posthumous)
2003 Shibdas Bhaduri (Posthumous)
2004 Gostha Paul (Posthumous)
2005 Chuni Goswami
2006 Umapati Kumar (Posthumous)
2007 Dhiren Dey (Posthumous)
2008 Mohammad Abdus Sattar
2009 Samar Banerjee
2010 Hiralal Mukherjee,
Bhuti Sukul,
Sudheer Chatterjee,
Monmohan Mukherjee,
Rajen Sengupta,
Neelmadhav Bhattacharya,
Kanu Roy,
Habul Sarkar,
Abhilash Ghosh,
Bijoydas Bhaduri
(All posthumous)
2011 Pradip Kumar Banerjee
2012 Jarnail Singh (Posthumous)
2013 Balaidas Chatterjee (Posthumous)
2014 Arumoy Naigam
2015 Karuna Sankar Bhattacharya (Posthumous)
2016 Syed Nayeemuddin
2017 Subrata Bhattacharya
2018 Pradip Chowdhury
2019 Keshav Dutt,
Prasun Banerjee
2020 Gurbux Singh,
Palash Nandy

Mohun Bagan Athletic Club, is an Indian professional sports club based in Kolkata, West Bengal, India. Founded in 1889, the club is one of the oldest in India and Asia. The club is most notable for its victory over East Yorkshire Regiment in the 1911 IFA Shield final.

This victory made Mohun Bagan the first all-Indian side to win a championship over a British side and was a major moment during India’s push for independence. Although Mohun Bagan is a multi-sport club, the primary sport since its foundation has been football.

They have won the top-flight football league a record five times – the National Football League three times, and the I-League twice. They are the most successful team of India in the history of the Federation Cup, having won the championship a record 14 times. The club has also won several other trophies, including the Durand Cup (16 times), IFA Shield (22 times), and the Calcutta Football League (30 times).

In total, the club has won 253 trophies.The club contests the Kolkata Derby with long-time local rivals SC East Bengal with the first derby match played on 8 August 1921.The club also shares a rivalry with another local club, Mohammedan SC.

Mohun Bagan was inducted into the Club of Pioneers,a network of the oldest existing football clubs around the world, on 29 July 2019 as the club celebrated its 130th year in existence.

The football operations of Mohun Bagan are now known as ATK Mohun Bagan FC since 2020, after Kolkata Games and Sports Private Limited, the company owning ATK FC, merged with Mohun Bagan Football Club (India) Private Limited, the legal entity overseeing the affairs of the club’s football section, by buying 80% stakes of the latter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *